Blog

Forum for Young Canadians: An unforgettable experience

By Marie-Anne, Manager at  Canadian Heritage

There were 130 of them. They came from Nunavut, the Yukon, Newfoundland and Labrador . . . from all across Canada, in fact. And for most of them, it was their first time in Ottawa.

They were between 15 and 18 years old and had been chosen to take part in the Forum for Young Canadians. It didn’t take them long to get settled in, meet their roommates and start preparing for their first day of discovery. The group leaders—I was one of them—had been given training during the weekend before the Forum, and had in hand the program and the list of students under their charge.

The students knew the requirements for participation: discipline, observing the dress code and punctuality. They had planned for everything—except the frigid cold that week: at the meeting on Parliament Hill at 8:00 in the morning, the temperature was -25 degrees Celsius and many of the students were taken by surprise, especially those from British Columbia and Alberta; the students from the North, however, remarked on how mild it was!

Visits to institutions in the federal capital

The Forum, which is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year, began with a visit to Parliament. A knowledgeable guide recounted the history of the building, the sculptures, the stained glass windows and the massive paintings illustrating moments in Canada’s history. Before we went up the Peace Tower, our guide also showed us around the magnificent library that houses thousands of books, reference documents and texts of legislation made available to parliamentarians.

The visit was only the prelude to a packed schedule: the students went on to discover a number of institutions, including the Canadian War Museum, the Governor General’s residence and the House of Commons and Senate Chambers. They also attended presentations given by Forum partners such as Export Development Canada (EDC), which is strongly committed to youth. EDC organized a one-day event in their offices, at which students were given a tough challenge: in little over an hour, they had to negotiate and conclude a major (fictitious) contract, following strict rules imposed by the federal government.

The speed and effectiveness with which the students carried out this simulation was awesome. I was particularly impressed by their work methods, leadership and determination. Their main tool was their smart phones, which they used for everything: to search, communicate, write and validate. In just a few minutes, they had chosen a spokesperson and typed up their presentations on their iPhone or iPad, and were ready to make their presentation to a room of 200 people.

The tone was set. All of the exercises, group projects and simulations were in the same vein. The students listened to all the presentations with the same attention, and displayed the same curiosity when taking part in discussions with other Forum partners such as Bombardier and Elections Canada.

From sea to sea . . . unanimity among the students

When asked what they liked most about their visit, the students were unanimous:
1.        Question Period in the House of Commons: they hadn’t realized just how noisy Question Period could get, and they were surprised to find that most of the answers given by the Government had little to do with the questions being asked.
2.        The House of Commons session: seated in the places of the ministers and MPs, they had a chance to put questions to the Honourable Andrew Sheer, the youngest Speaker of the House of Commons in the history of Canada, as well as to the pages, who spoke to them about their work. Did you know that, to be a page, you have to remember the names and ridings of all 308 MPs, in both official languages? And there’s no room for error: the pass mark is 100%.
3.        Breakfast with parliamentarians: they got to meet senators and ask them questions, and they also visited the rooms adjoining the Senate Chambers.
4.        The reception at the Château Laurier: they had an opportunity to network with Forum partners and talk to their MP at their table and with senior public- and private-sector officials.

The Forum for Young Canadians is a truly stimulating and enriching experience. In one week, the organizers were able to introduce the students to a world hitherto unknown to them, and provide them with opportunities to make new acquaintances and gain new experiences. For the group leaders, it was a chance to discuss, inform, guide and, above all, to realize that these young people represent a dynamic, passionate and confident upcoming generation that is ready to embark on highly complex projects.

The Forum has continued to be a success, year after year. And yet it is a relatively modest organization: visits by hundreds of students wanting to learn more about political life in Ottawa are organized, planned and managed by a three-person team. Supported by a few volunteers, these three individuals handle emergencies, help out, deal with unforeseen situations and accompany the students during their free time.

The Forum is an incredible learning opportunity, even if the days are long. I am thrilled to have been able to take part in the Forum and to have experienced, during our week together, the enthusiasm, humour, motivation and intelligence of these 130 students.

If you are interested, you can visit the site at https://forum.ca/ and apply for next year’s Forum.

Invest in the Future of Canada

Stay Connected

Blog

Le Forum pour jeunes Canadiens : une expérience inoubliable

Par Marie-Anne Marin, Gestionnaire, Communications

Ils étaient 130 et provenaient du Nunavut, du Yukon, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador… en fait, de partout au Canada. Pour la plupart d’entre eux, il s’agissait de leur première visite à Ottawa.

Ils avaient entre 15 et 18 ans et avaient été sélectionnés pour participer au Forum pour jeunes Canadiens. Cela ne leur a pas pris beaucoup de temps pour prendre possession des lieux, faire connaissance avec leur colocataire et se préparer à leur première journée de découvertes. Les chefs de groupe, dont je faisais partie, avaient quant à eux reçu une formation la fin de semaine précédant le forum et avait en main le programme et la liste des étudiants dont ils allaient s’occuper.

Les étudiants étaient bien au fait des conditions de participation : discipline, code vestimentaire et ponctualité. Ils avaient tout prévu, sauf le froid polaire à Ottawa cette semaine-là : le rendez-vous sur la colline du Parlement à -25 degrés Celsius à 8 h du matin en a surpris plus d’un, surtout les jeunes de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Alberta. Les participants du Nord parlaient pour leur part de redoux.

Au cœur des institutions de la capitale fédérale

Le Forum, qui célèbre son 40e anniversaire cette année, a commencé par une visite au Parlement. Un guide chevronné nous a raconté l’histoire de l’édifice, des sculptures, des vitraux et des immenses tableaux illustrant des moments de l’histoire canadienne. Avant de monter à la Tour de la Paix, il nous a aussi fait visiter la magnifique bibliothèque où sont conservés des milliers de livres, d’ouvrages de référence et de textes de loi mis à la disposition des parlementaires.

La visite n’était que le prélude à un programme bien chargé, alors que les étudiants allaient découvrir plusieurs institutions, dont le Musée canadien de la guerre, la Résidence du Gouverneur général ainsi que les salles de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat. Ils allaient aussi assister à des présentations de partenaires du Forum, comme la société Exportation et Développement Canada (EDC), très engagée auprès des jeunes. EDC avait d’ailleurs organisé toute une journée dans ses bureaux durant laquelle les étudiants avaient un défi de taille à relever. En une heure à peine, ils devaient négocier et conclure un contrat fictif important, selon des règles strictes imposées par le gouvernement fédéral.

La rapidité et l’efficacité des étudiants à terminer cette simulation ont été époustouflantes. J’ai été particulièrement impressionnée par leurs méthodes de travail, leur leadership et leur détermination. Leur principal outil a été leur téléphone intelligent qui leur servait à tout : recherche, communication, rédaction et validation de l’information. En quelques minutes, ils avaient choisi un porte-parole, tapé leur présentation sur leur Iphone ou Ipad et étaient prêts à en faire l’exposé devant une salle de 200 personnes.

Le ton était donné. Tous les exercices, les travaux de groupe et les simulations allaient être de la même veine. Les étudiants allaient démontrer la même attention à écouter les présentations et la même curiosité à participer aux discussions des autres partenaires du Forum, dont Bombardier et Élections Canada.

D’un océan à l’autre, les étudiants unanimes!

Lorsqu’on a demandé aux étudiants ce qu’ils avaient le plus aimé de leur séjour, ils ont été unanimes à dire :

1.        La période des questions à la Chambre des communes. Ils ne se doutaient pas que la période des questions pouvait être aussi bruyante. Ils ont aussi été surpris de constater que la plupart des réponses données par le gouvernement faisaient fi des questions.

2.        La séance à la Chambre des communes. Assis aux places des ministres et députés, ils ont pu poser des questions à l’honorable Andrew Sheer, le plus jeune président de la Chambre des communes de l’histoire du Canada, ainsi qu’aux pages qui leur ont parlé de leur travail. Savez-vous que pour être page, il faut connaître le nom et la circonscription des 308 députés, et ce, dans les deux langues officielles? Aucune erreur possible : la note de passage est de 100 %.

3.        Le petit-déjeuner avec les parlementaires. Ils ont eu l’occasion de rencontrer des sénateurs, de leur poser des questions et de visiter les salles attenantes au Sénat.

4.        La réception au Château Laurier. Ils ont pu réseauter avec les partenaires du Forum, en plus de discuter avec leur député à leur table et des hauts dirigeants des secteurs public et privé.

Le Forum pour jeunes Canadiens représente vraiment une expérience stimulante et enrichissante. En une semaine, les organisateurs ont réussi à faire découvrir aux étudiants un monde tout à fait inconnu, à leur inculquer nombre de connaissances et à acquérir de nouvelles expériences. Pour les chefs de groupe, cela a été l’occasion de discuter, d’informer, de guider et surtout de constater combien les jeunes représentent une relève dynamique, passionnée et affirmée, prête à se lancer dans les projets les plus complexes.

Le succès du Forum se confirme année après année. C’est une organisation bien modeste pourtant. Une équipe de trois personnes organise, planifie et gère la visite de centaines d’étudiants intéressés à connaître la vie politique à Ottawa. Elle est appuyée par quelques bénévoles qui répondent aux urgences, dépannent, règlent des situations inattendues et accompagnent les étudiants pendant leur temps libre.

Le Forum, c’est aussi une occasion incroyable d’apprendre, même si les journées sont longues. Je suis très contente d’en avoir fait partie et d’avoir vécu pendant une semaine l’enthousiasme, l’humour, la volonté et l’intelligence de ces 130 étudiants.

Si l’expérience vous intéresse, je vous invite à aller sur le site du Forum, http://forum.ca/fr, et à poser votre candidature l’an prochain.

Investir dans l'avenir du Canada

Questions? Contactez-nous aujourd'hui

(613) 233-4086