Blog

Reimagine the Future of Youth Civic Engagement

 

 

 

Forum for Young Canadians Partners with Rideau Hall Foundation to Reimagine the Future of Youth Civic Engagement

OTTAWA, December 9, 2020 – Today, Forum for Young Canadians announced a new partnership with the Rideau Hall Foundation that will ensure more youth have the opportunity to engage in our democracy and the institutions that form its foundation.

Over the past 45 years, Forum for Young Canadians (FFYC) has been and continues to be a uniting force, bringing more than 25,000 young people together to connect and learn from each other, deepen their understanding of Canada and of the national decision-making process, and grow their commitment to civic engagement.

“As a Forum alumna, I know first-hand the transformative power of coming together with other young leaders who share a passion for making their communities and country better,” said Marlene Floyd, Chair of the FFYC Board of Directors. “We are thrilled that Forum is joining the Rideau Hall Foundation. It provides us with an amazing opportunity to build on Forum’s considerable strengths and innovate to reach and inspire even more young people across the country.”

The Rideau Hall Foundation (RHF) is a nation-building charity that connects people, causes and organizations that share a common belief in and commitment to the potential of Canada. The RHF is committed to helping Canadians better understand and appreciate the role of our country’s public institutions, and to cultivate the means of engaging with them in meaningful ways.

“Young Canadians are at the forefront of great change in this country, tackling issues from systemic racism to poverty and from the environment to equity, diversity and inclusion in education,” said Teresa Marques, President and CEO of the RHF. “We are honoured to welcome Forum under the banner of the RHF to help evolve its programming and ensure it returns post-pandemic stronger, more accessible and effective, and better able to equip and empower youth for lifelong and meaningful civic engagement for generations to come.”

In the next few months the RHF, informed by a National Advisory Council focused on the future of Forum, will initiate a robust consultation process with key stakeholders, partners, alumni and most importantly young people from across the country, to develop the next iteration of Forum’s programming and position Forum within the greater context of a burgeoning democratic and civic engagement ecosystem.

“We will be depending on the strong, thoughtful voices of young Canadians, who are uniquely positioned to shape the future direction of FFYC programing and the country itself. They are already the leaders of today and they will lead FFYC into the future,” concluded Ms. Marques.

More details about the new FFYC program will be announced in the coming months.

 -30-

For more information:

Allison MacLachlan
Director, External Relations and Public Engagement
Rideau Hall Foundation
613.316.3473
[email protected]

 

About the Rideau Hall Foundation

The Rideau Hall Foundation is an independent and non-political charitable organization established to mobilize ideas, people, and resources across the country to tap into our national spirit and help realize our shared aspirations. The RHF works closely with many partners, including the Office of the Governor General, to connect, honour, and inspire Canadians across four key programmatic areas, including: (1) learning initiatives that strive for excellence and promote equality of opportunity; (2) strengthening Canada’s culture of innovation, (3) widening the circle of giving and volunteering; and (4) building and celebrating excellence in Canadian leadership, and increasing public awareness about and commitment to Canada’s multi-faceted democracy. Learn more at www.rhf-frh.ca.

Invest in the Future of Canada

Questions? Contact us today

Blog

Réinventer l’avenir de l’engagement civique des jeunes

Le Forum pour jeunes Canadiens s’associe à la Fondation Rideau Hall pour réinventer l’avenir de l’engagement civique des jeunes

OTTAWA, le 9 décembre 2020 – Aujourd’hui, le Forum pour jeunes Canadiens a annoncé un nouveau partenariat avec la Fondation Rideau Hall qui permettra à un plus grand nombre de jeunes de s’impliquer dans notre démocratie et dans les institutions qui en constituent le fondement.

Au cours des 45 dernières années, le Forum pour jeunes Canadiens a été, et continue d’être, une force unificatrice. Il a permis à plus de 25 000 jeunes de se rencontrer, d’apprendre les un.e.s des autres, d’approfondir leur compréhension du Canada, du processus décisionnel de notre pays et de renforcer leur engagement civique.

« En tant qu’ancienne du Forum, je connais bien le pouvoir de transformation des rencontres avec d’autres jeunes leaders qui ont aussi à cœur de rendre leur communauté et leur pays meilleurs », a déclaré Marlene Floyd, présidente du conseil d’administration du Forum pour jeunes Canadiens. « Nous sommes ravi.e.s que le Forum se joigne à la Fondation Rideau Hall. Cela nous offre une occasion extraordinaire de tirer parti des atouts remarquables du Forum, tout en innovant pour rejoindre et inspirer encore plus de jeunes à travers le pays. »

La Fondation Rideau Hall (FRH) est un organisme de bienfaisance qui œuvre à l’édification du pays et met en relation des personnes, des causes et des organisations qui croient au potentiel du Canada et qui sont engagées à le réaliser. La FRH s’engage à aider les Canadien.ne.s à mieux comprendre et à apprécier le rôle des institutions publiques de notre pays, et à développer des moyens d’y prendre part activement.

« Les jeunes Canadiennes et Canadiens sont à l’avant-garde des grands changements dans ce pays. Elles et ils abordent des questions allant du racisme systémique à la pauvreté, en passant par l’environnement, l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans le domaine de l’éducation, » a déclaré Teresa Marques, présidente et directrice générale de la FRH. « Nous sommes honoré.e.s d’accueillir le Forum sous la bannière de la FRH pour l’aider à faire évoluer sa programmation et à faire en sorte qu’il revienne plus fort après la pandémie, plus accessible et plus efficace, et mieux à même d’équiper et d’autonomiser les jeunes pour un engagement civique actif tout au long de leur vie et pour les générations à venir. »

Au cours des prochains mois, la FRH, informée par un conseil consultatif national axé sur l’avenir du Forum, lancera un vaste processus de consultation avec les principales parties prenantes, les partenaires, les ancien.ne.s et surtout les jeunes de tout le pays, afin d’élaborer le programme de la prochaine édition du Forum et de positionner celui-ci dans un écosystème démocratique et d’engagement civique en plein essor.

« Nous dépendrons des voix fortes et réfléchies des jeunes Canadiennes et Canadiens. Elles et ils occupent une place privilégiée pour définir la direction que prendra la programmation du Forum et notre pays. Les jeunes sont déjà les leaders d’aujourd’hui et mèneront le Forum vers l’avenir, » a conclu Mme Marques.

Plus d’information sur le nouveau programme du Forum pour jeunes Canadiens seront annoncés dans les prochains mois.

-30-

 

Pour plus d’information :

Allison MacLachlan
Directrice, relations externes et mobilisation du public
Fondation Rideau Hall
613.316.3473
[email protected]

 

À propos de la Fondation Rideau Hall

La Fondation Rideau Hall est un organisme caritatif indépendant et apolitique qui a pour but de réunir des idées, des gens et des ressources de partout au pays, afin de refléter l’esprit qui nous anime et de réaliser nos aspirations communes. La FRH travaille en étroite collaboration avec le Bureau du gouverneur général et avec ses nombreux partenaires afin de rapprocher les Canadiens, de leur rendre hommage et de les inspirer. Le travail de la FRH répond à des enjeux canadiens qui s’inscrivent dans quatre volets clés : 1) créer des programmes d’apprentissage qui favorisent l’excellence et l’égalité des chances en éducation; 2) promouvoir une culture de l’innovation au Canada; 3) élargir le cercle de don et de bénévolat et 4) bâtir et célébrer l’excellence du leadership canadien, sensibiliser davantage le public à la démocratie et renforcer son engagement à l’égard d’une démocratie canadienne aux multiples facettes. Pour en savoir plus : www.rhf-frh.ca

Investir dans l'avenir du Canada

Questions? Contactez-nous aujourd'hui