Our Story

The Foundation for the Study of Processes of Government in Canada is a registered non-profit organization founded in 1975.

 

 

 

 

1975

Some idealistic educators had a great idea

Some idealistic educators had a great idea: to create a bilingual, non-partisan youth education program to promote understanding of the role and function of our national government and the meaning of Canadian citizenship. The idea was to have young leaders interact with national leaders on Parliament Hill. The Foundation for the Study of Processes of Government was incorporated to make this idea a reality.

1976

The First Forum for Young Canadians

The first Forum for Young Canadians ("Forum") was run in March at Ashbury College, with 100 high school students (aged 15-19 years) from all over the country in attendance. Three more week-long sessions would take place that year.

1985

The Foundation created the Forum Teachers' Conference

The Foundation created the Forum Teachers' Conference which offered teachers the same week of intense activity on Parliament Hill and other national facilities as the Forum students, making it one of the best professional development conferences in the country on learning the processes of government.

2000

The Foundation created its first international program for students and teachers

The Foundation created its first international program for students and teachers from eleven countries around the world who had attended, along with the Canadian team, the "World Parliament of Children" in Paris in 1999. Together, they attended Forum and presented the World Parliament of Children's "Youth Manifesto of the 21st Century" to the Parliament of Canada.

2001

The Foundation created the Canada-U.S. Youth Forum

The Foundation created the Canada-U.S. Youth Forum in partnership with the University of Ottawa. This program, for which participants can receive academic credit, was developed along the lines of Forum's educational "hands-on" approach, but with more emphasis on issues relevant to the bilateral relationship between Canada and the United States. The program brings together primarily university-aged students from both countries for a one-week forum.

2003

The Foundation partnered with the Institute for Cultural Diplomacy

The Foundation partnered with the Institute for Cultural Diplomacy in Berlin to launch the Canadian-German Young Leaders Forum. This program, which the Foundation ran jointly with the ICD until 2006, gave young business, government and academic leaders from both countries (aged 28-38) a practical understanding not only of the processes of government at an international level but also of the international community in which governments operate.

2015

Forum for Young Canadians turns 40

The Foundation celebrates its 40th anniversary.

Invest in the Future of Canada

Questions? Contact us today

Notre histoire

La Fondation pour l’étude des processus de gouvernement au Canada est un organisme sans but lucratif enregistrée et fondée en 1975.

 

 

 

 

1975

Des éducateurs à la poursuite d’un idéal ont une excellente idée

Des éducateurs rêveurs ont une excellente idée : établir un programme formateur bilingue et non-partisan pour promouvoir la compréhension des rôles et des fonctions de notre gouvernement et pour comprendre le sens de la citoyenneté canadienne. Il s’agit de favoriser l’interaction des jeunes leaders actuels avec les dirigeants du pays sur la Colline parlementaire. Cette idée évolue et mène à la création de la Fondation pour l’étude des processus de gouvernement au Canada.

1976

La première session du Forum pour jeunes Canadiens

La première session du Forum pour jeunes Canadiens (« Forum ») a lieu en mars au Collège Ashbury (Ottawa). Cent étudiants de 15 à 19 ans de partout au Canada y participent. Trois autres sessions ont eu lieu cette année là.

1985

La Fondation crée la Conférence des enseignants dans le cadre du Forum

La Fondation crée la Conférence des enseignants dans le cadre du Forum, ce qui permet à des enseignants de vivre la même semaine d’activités intensives sur la Colline du Parlement et à d’autres services nationaux. Il s’agit d’une des meilleures conférences de perfectionnement professionnel au pays quant à l’apprentissage des divers processus gouvernementaux.

2000

La Fondation crée son premier programme international destiné aux étudiants et aux enseignants

La Fondation crée son premier programme international destiné aux étudiants et aux enseignants des 11 pays du monde qui ont assisté, de concert avec l’équipe du Canada, au « mondial des enfants » tenu à Paris en 1999. Ensemble, les participants ont assisté au Forum pour présenter au Parlement du Canada le » Manifeste des jeunes pour le XXIe siècle « , conçu à l’occasion du Parlement mondial des enfants.

2001

La Fondation crée le Forum jeunesse canado-américain

La Fondation crée le Forum jeunesse canado-américain en partenariat avec l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme, qui permet aux participants d'obtenir des crédits universitaires, a été conçu dans le même esprit que le Forum, c’est-à-dire une approche concrète de l’éducation, mais on y insiste plus sur les enjeux qui concernent les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Le programme réunit surtout des étudiants canadiens et américains de niveau universitaire pour un forum d’une semaine. Ce programme est actuellement suspendu pendant en raiosn d'une révision de son contenu.

2003

La Fondation travaille en partenariat avec l’Institut de diplomatie culturelle

La Fondation travaille en partenariat avec l’Institut de diplomatie culturelle à Berlin pour lancer le Forum Canadien-Allemand des jeunes leaders. Ce programme, qui a pris fin en 2006, a donné à des jeunes leaders de file (de 28 à 38 ans) issus du milieu des affaires, de la sphère gouvernementale et du monde universitaire des deux pays une compréhension pratique non seulement des processus de gouvernement au niveau international, mais aussi de la communauté internationale au sein de laquelle les gouvernements excerce leur pouvoir.

2015

Forum pour jeunes Canadiens a 40 ans

La fondation célèbre son 40e anniversaire.

Investir dans l'avenir du Canada

Questions? Contactez-nous aujourd'hui

(613) 233-4086