Message from the Chair

October, 2019

At last year’s AGM we presented the outcomes of a strategic planning process that would guide the work of the Board of Directors, employees and volunteers for the next 3 years. This year we have been focussing on processes which will enable us to establish a stronger future for the Foundation.

When the Foundation was created 43 years ago, its mandate was to engage and educate young Canadians about the role and function of the three levels of democratic government in Canada. In keeping with this mandate, our vision is now to empower and equip our delegates to participate in meaningful civic engagement. To this end, our programming is constantly adapting as we strive to motivate young Canadians to action by providing them with tools and platforms where challenges faced in their communities can be shared and where priorities that are relevant and important to them can be discussed and, hopefully, acted upon.

Engaging our alumni is a key component of our strategic plan and is vital to the future of our organization. This year, 20 alumnae and Friends of Forum attended the Women Deliver Conference in Vancouver. Creating impact was our focus and the delegates were mandated to implement community projects which would lead to further empowerment of girls and women across the country. This inaugural initiative engaged our alumnae in a powerful way and we look forward to future opportunities for further meaningful impact.

(As Executive Director, I would also like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank Justine Hendricks, who after 12 years as a Board member (6 years as Chair), is leaving the  organization in a strong position to grow and prosper.) Armed with a Strategic Plan and a Target Operating Model focusing on Governance, Technology, and  fundraising, we are facing the upcoming year with optimism as we continue to have positive impact and inspire young Canadians, who, in their own ways, are already leaders in motion.

Marie-Michèle Lafèrriere, Executive Director 

Justine Hendricks, Past-Chair

Invest in the Future of Canada

Stay Connected

Message de la présidente

 

octobre, 2019

Lors de l’AGA de l’an dernier, nous avons présenté les résultats d’un processus de planification stratégique qui guiderait le travail du conseil d’administration, des employés et des bénévoles au cours des trois prochaines années. Cette année, nous nous sommes concentrés sur les processus qui nous permettront d’établir un avenir plus solide pour la Fondation.

Lorsque la Fondation a été créée il y a 43 ans, son mandat consistait à sensibiliser les jeunes Canadiens au rôle et à la fonction des trois paliers de gouvernement démocratique au Canada. Conformément à ce mandat, notre vision est maintenant d’habiliter et d’équiper nos délégués pour qu’ils puissent participer à un engagement civique significatif. À cette fin, nos programmes s’adaptent constamment et nous nous efforçons de motiver les jeunes Canadiens à agir en leur fournissant des outils et des plates-formes où les défis auxquels ils font face dans leurs collectivités peuvent être partagés et où les priorités qui sont pertinentes et importantes pour eux peuvent être discutées et, nous l’espérons, mises en oeuvre.

L’engagement de nos anciens est un élément clé de notre plan stratégique et est vital pour l’avenir de notre organisation. Cette année, 20 anciennes participantes ont assisté à la conférence Women Deliver à Vancouver. Les délégués ont été mandatées pour mettre en oeuvre des projets communautaires qui permettraient d’autonomiser davantage les filles et les femmes à travers le pays. Cette initiative inaugurale a mobilisé nos anciennes participantes d’une manière puissante et nous attendons avec impatience d’autres occasions d’avoir un impact significatif.

(En tant que directrice générale, j’aimerais également profiter de l’occasion pour remercier sincèrement Justine Hendricks, qui, après 12 ans comme membre du conseil d’administration (6 ans comme présidente), laisse l’organisation dans une position solide pour croître et prospérer). Munis d’un plan stratégique et d’un  modèle opérationnel axé sur la gouvernance, la technologie, et la collecte de fonds, nous abordons l’année à venir avec optimisme, car nous continuerons d’avoir un impact positif et d’inspirer les jeunes Canadiens qui, à leur façon, sont déjà des leaders en mouvement.

 

 

Justine Hendricks, Ancienne présidente

Marie-Michèle Laferièrre, Directrice générale

 

Investir dans l'avenir du Canada

Questions? Contactez-nous aujourd'hui

(613) 233-4086