The Foundation for the Study of Processes of Government in Canada

Citizenship. Democracy. Governance. These concepts are integral to the functioning of our country, but what do they really mean? What do they mean for youth?

The Foundation for the Study of Processes of Government in Canada is a registered non-profit organization founded in 1975. It has two goals:

  • To engage young Canadians about the role and function of the three levels of democratic government in Canada
  • To promote Canadian citizenship

To achieve these goals, the Foundation has operated several programs to educate politically engaged young people. Its most famous program is Forum for Young Canadians, which has existed since the Foundation was created. The programs of the Foundation have also served to foster leadership skills in young Canadians. Participants in these programs have had the opportunity to learn about government, democracy and citizenship, to meet various actors in the Canadian public sphere, and to connect with other young people whose interests are similar to their own.

The Foundation started with a simple formula: To bring together interested and engaged youth from across the country to participate in a constructive and educational exploration of their national institutions. Time has shown that this is a recipe for success. The participants in the programs of the Foundation, who now number more than 22,000, reap a tremendous reward.

They benefit greatly from the educational aspects of the programming, which is the primary objective of the Foundation They become better informed, more involved citizens, which in turn serves the public good across Canada. Participants also have the formative experience of meeting their peers from other parts of the country. For many, their attendance at a Foundation program is their first such experience, and it brings with it an important awareness of themselves and each other. What’s more, they become a part of a broader network that extends across Canada.

Many of today’s political leaders made their debut in Forum so don’t hesitate! You, your child, or your student can be a part of a new generation of national leaders.

Invest in the Future of Canada

Questions? Contact us today

La Fondation pour l’étude des processus de gouvernement au Canada

Citoyenneté, Démocratie, Gouvernance. Ces concepts font partie intégrante du fonctionnement de notre pays, mais que signifient‑ils vraiment ? Que signifient-ils pour les jeunes ?

La Fondation pour l’étude des processus de gouvernement au Canada est un organisme sans but lucratif enregistrée et fondée en 1975. Elle a deux objectifs :

  • Faire comprendre aux jeunes Canadien.ne.s le rôle et la fonction des trois niveaux d’administration publique démocratique au Canada
  • Promouvoir la citoyenneté canadienne

Pour ce faire, la Fondation a créé plusieurs programmes ayant vocation à éduquer les jeunes politiquement. Son programme vedette est Forum et existe depuis la création de la Fondation. Les programmes servent à encourager les compétences en leadership des jeunes Canadien.ne.s. Les participant.e.s à ces programmes ont l’occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur la gouvernance, la démocratie et la citoyenneté, de rencontrer des personnalités de la sphère publique canadienne et de rencontrer d’autres jeunes dont les intérêts s’apparentent aux leurs.

La Fondation applique une formule simple visant à réunir à Ottawa des jeunes intéressé.e.s et engagé.e.s, venu.e.s des quatre coins du Canada, pour participer à une étude constructive et instructive de leurs institutions nationales. Notre expérience a démontré que c’était une formule fructueuse. Ceux et celles qui participent aux programmes de la Fondation — plus de 22 000 personnes ont participé jusqu’à maintenant — en retirent des avantages considérables. Ils-elles apprennent beaucoup, grâce à l’aspect éducatif des programmes, ce qui demeure l’objectif premier de la Fondation.

Ils-elles deviennent des citoyen.ne.s mieux informé.e.s et plus engagé.e.s, ce qui est dans l’intérêt du bien public de l’ensemble du Canada. Les participant.e.s vivent également l’importante expérience de rencontrer leurs pairs venus d’autres régions du pays. Pour beaucoup, la participation à un programme de la Fondation est la première expérience de cette nature, et cela suscite une importante prise de conscience d’eux-mêmes et des autres. De plus, ils-elles s’intègrent à un vaste réseau qui s’étend à tout le Canada.

Bon nombre des promoteurs.trices de changements d’aujourd’hui ont fait leurs débuts au Forum. Alors n’hésitez plus ! C’est peut-être vous, votre enfant ou vos étudiant.e.s qui ferez partie de la nouvelle génération de chefs de file nationaux…

 

Investir dans l'avenir du Canada

Questions? Contactez-nous aujourd'hui