2019 Sessions Update

Forum 2018-2019 Session Newsletter

Wow! We can’t believe a whole set of Forum sessions is over for yet another year! Again, we were amazed and inspired by all of our participants…you truly are an incredible group of young Canadian leaders!

Please join us in taking a look back at Forum 2018/ 2019…

 

SESSION HIGHLIGHTS

Fall session made a return… and it was a success!


For the first time in several years, we added a Fall Forum session to 2019 programming. A smaller group than normal, our 68 students who attended the Fall session loved their experience in the Capital during the season. Additionally, this was the last Forum group to see the House of Commons and Senate the way they originally were in Centreblock! An opportunity that was fully taken advantage of!

 

Our new Parliamentary Reception, not just MP Reception!

October 24, 2018
PHOTO: Greg Kolz

Every year, we invite Members of Parliament to our reception to meet their constituents who are attending Forum. This year, we opened up our invitation to all Parliamentarians.

At the Parliamentary Reception this year, we had great participation from both Senators and Members of Parliament. We are looking forward to continuing our partnership with the Senate of Canada. Thank you for coming out to help support these young Canadian leaders!

 

First group into the new HoC and Senate

For our February and March sessions, students had the opportunity to see and sit in the new House of Commons located in Westblock. Excitingly, students in Session 3 in March were able to sit inside the new Senate.

On top of this, we were the first youth group ever to be invited inside the new House of Commons! Forum thanks the Hill for this exciting opportunity for our students.

 

Canadian Club of Ottawa Luncheon

Session 2 participants attended the February Canadian Club of Ottawa Luncheon on the #FutureOfWork in Canada.

Thank you for the Canadian Club of Ottawa for the kind invitation and for giving the place to our 120 future workers to ask excellent (and tough) questions that are important to them!

 

Extra day thanks to NRCAN

In partnership with Natural Resources Canada, Session 3 participants attend a full day of programming on Environment, Energy and the Future of transportation in Canada.

Prior to the Forum, participants were encouraged to engage in community-based conversations to explore their communities’ specific concerns under the umbrella of environment, climate change with a focus on transportation. The type of identified challenges were linked to the reduction of carbon emission within the community, protecting river banks and water conditions, waste management and sustainability, electric vehicle subsidization, accessible bike paths, community gardens and public transportation to name a few.

What a great way to create concrete community action projects! Types of projects that will be conducted are: getting a charging station for a car at the school, educating the community and about the importance of recycling and composting and putting systems in place, pushing for pedestrian only paths, having more accessible bike paths, green roofs on main street, and green public transportation.

 

 


FORUM BY THE NUMBERS

 

Forum’s 321 students traveled to Ottawa from all across Canada. They came from both rural and urban communities, and represented a wide variety of perspectives and views.

Every province and territory was represented at Forum for Young Canadians this year, something we are very proud of!

 

 


FRIENDS OF FORUM

 

Forum would not be possible without the support of its many partners. Over 100 volunteers and 50 partners contributed to the Forum for Young Canadians in 2019. Their dedication and support of the program facilitates student learning and empowerment. Forum has remained Canada’s premier youth civic engagement program for over 43 amazing years because of our Friends of Forum.

Many organizations sponsor Forum for Young Canadians. Their involvement makes possible the engagement, learning, and empowerment of our students.

 

 

 

Thanks for making Forum 2019 a success!

Each year, countless volunteers contribute to making Forum for Young Canadians such a success. We’d like to give a special shout out to our 2018/2019 volunteers this year, thank YOU for making Forum so special this time around! This is definitely a year to remember!

It’s time to get excited for Forum 2020! Follow us on social media and spread the Forum opportunity to an engaged young person in your life. Session dates for 2020 are currently on our website, check them out!

#Forum4YC

Invest in the Future of Canada

Questions? Contact us today

Bulletin de sessions 2019

Bulletin d’information des Sessions du Forum
2018/ 2019

Wow! Pouvez-vous croire que toutes les sessions de Forum sont déjà terminées! Encore une fois, ces sessions ont été une source d’inspiration grâce à tous nos participant.e.s….vous êtes un groupe incroyable de leaders!

Faites le survol de Forum 2018-2019 avec nous…

 

La session d’automne été de retour….et ce fut un grand succès!


Pour la première fois depuis plusieurs années, nous avons accueilli un groupe d’étudiant à la session d’automne. Nos 68 étudiant.e.s ont apprécié leur expérience dans la capitale durant la saison automnale. Ces privilégiés, ont été le dernier groupe du Forum à voir la Chambre des Communes et le Sénat original avant les rénovations.

 

Notre nouvelle réception des parlementaires, n’est plus seulement que pour les députés!

October 24, 2018
PHOTO: Greg Kolz

À chaque année, nous invitons les députés à notre réception pour rencontrer les commetant.e.s de leur circonscription qui sont à la session du Forum. Cette année nous avons invité tous les parlementaires!

À la réception rebaptisé la réception des parlementaires, il y a eu une grande participation des Sénateur.trice.s et des député.e.s. Merci à eux d’être venue en si grand nombre pour rencontrer nos jeunes leaders canadiens!

 

Premier groupe à la nouvelle Chambre des Communes et au Sénat

Pour nos sessions de février et mars, les étudiants ont eu l’occasion de voir et de prendre place dans la nouvelle Chambre des Communes située dans l’édifice de l’Ouest.

Les étudiant.e.s de la troisième session ont pris place dans le nouveau Sénat. Forum remercie la Colline pour ces opportunités en or pour tous.toutes les participant.e.s.

 

Dîner au Cercle Canadien d’Ottawa

Les participants de la session 2 ont eu l’occasion de participer au dîner du Cercle Canadien d’Ottawa sur le thème du futur de l’emploi au Canada.

Merci au Cercle Canadien d’Ottawa pour la superbe invitation ainsi que pour avoir laissé la place à nos 120 futurs travailleurs de poser des questions qui sont pertinantes pour eux.

 

Une journée supplémentaire grâce à Ressources Naturelle Canada

En partenariat avec Ressources naturelles Canada, les participants de la troisième session ont assisté à une journée complète de programmation sur l’environnement, l’énergie et l’avenir des transports au Canada.

Avant le forum, les participants ont été encouragés à participer à des conversations communautaires afin d’explorer les préoccupations particulières de leurs collectivités sous l’angle de l’environnement et des changements climatiques, en mettant l’accent sur les transports. Les types de défis identifiés étaient liés à la réduction des émissions de carbone au sein de la collectivité, à la protection des berges, de l’état de l’eau, à la gestion des déchets et à la durabilité, à la subvention des véhicules électriques, aux pistes cyclables accessibles, aux jardins communautaires et aux transports publics, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

Quelle belle façon de créer des projets d’action communautaire concrets ! Les types de projets qui seront réalisés sont : l’installation d’une station de recharge pour une voiture à l’école, l’éducation de la communauté, l’importance du recyclage et du compostage aini que la promotion de sentiers piétonniers , des pistes cyclables plus accessibles, des toits verts sur la rue principale et des transports publics écologiques.

 

 


Forum en chiffre

 

Les 321 étudiants provenant de tout le Canada se sont rendus à Ottawa afin de participer au Forum. Originaires de communautés urbaines et Rurales, ils ont représentés une grande variété d’opinions et de perspectives.

Toutes les provinces et territoires étaient représentés au Forum cette année, une grande source de fierté pour nous!

 

Amis de Forum

Forum ne serait pas possible sans l’appui de tous ses partenaires. Plus de 100 bénévoles et 50 partenaires ont contribué au succès du Forum pour Jeunes Canadiens en 2019. Leur dévouement et leur appui au programme permet au étudiant.e.s d’apprendre et d’encourager leur autonomie et leur initiative. Forum est le programme par excellence au Canada pour l‘engagement citoyen et l’inclusion sociale des jeunes et ce depuis 44 années grâce aux amis de Forum.

Plusieurs organismes commanditent Forum pour jeunes Canadiens. Les opportunité d’apprentissage, d’engagement et de développement personnel de nos étudiant.e.s ne sont possibles que grâce à leur contribution.

 

 

 

Merci d’avoir contribué au succès du Forum 2018-2019!

Chaque année, plusieurs bénévoles contribuent à la réussite du déroulement des sessions du Forum. Nous aimerions remercier tout particulièrement les bénévoles de l’années 2018-2019. Grâce à VOUS Forum a été une expérience inoubliable!

C’est le temps de penser à ce qui s’en vient; Forum 2020! Suivez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux et partager l’opportunité de participer au Forum avec tous les jeunes dans votre vie! Les dates pour les sessions de 2020 sont sur notre site web, ici!

#Forum4YC

Investir dans l'avenir du Canada

Questions? Contactez-nous aujourd'hui

(613) 233-4086