Blog

My experience at Forum for Young Canadians

While attending Forum for Young Canadians I made countless new friends that I aspire to remain in contact with. I learned many interesting and educational things about Canadian politics, and became a more engaged citizen.

The week, at Forum for Young Canadians, I made friends from all over Canada. I now have friendships with other engaged youth across Canada, from coast to coast. To my group at Forum and myself, the bonds that we created made the trip worthwhile by themselves. The people that I met at Forum are not only amazing individuals who I will stay friends with. They are also ambitious young Canadians, who made me realize that our generation is powerful. With these new friendships, I learned more about each part of Canadian politics and how the decisions that our government makes affects us all.

Throughout my week in Ottawa at Forum for Young Canadians, I learned so much about the Canadian political system. I was able to first hand see how

Amy during the MP Reception with her group

Amy during the MP Reception with her group

government works through conversations with MPs, senators and other politically involved individuals from all across Canada, listening to the Speakers of the House of Commons and the Senate, sitting and walking within the House of Commons and the Senate, participating in simulations involving elections, immigration, refugees and negotiation between provinces. All this enabled me to have a deeper understanding of our Canadian government. The schedule for the week in Ottawa was jam packed with events, however, each event helped me in learning and understanding government, as well as connecting me with other individuals.

Coming out of Forum, I am a more engaged citizen. After talking with various individuals and gaining a better understanding of Canada’s political and diversity, I am now ready and willing to participate and be more involved in activities in my community, province and nation.

One of the events that was particularly special during my week in Ottawa was the MP Dinner, where I talked with various MPs and Forum Alumni who are now politically involved. At the MP Dinner the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau came and gave a speech. I was lucky enough to get a picture with him! Another event was the Senators breakfast, where I met the current Usher of the Black Rod and discussed his position and role in parliament.

In addition, this trip improved my abilities in French. I was given opportunities to give speeches in French, communicate with Francophones and listen to speeches in French given by Francophones. I believe that my French speaking, listening and communication abilities improved during Forum.

Amy W. – Alberta

Invest in the Future of Canada

Stay Connected

Blog

Mon expérience au Forum pour jeunes canadiens

Au Forum pour jeunes canadiens je me suis fait plusieurs nouveaux amis, appris plusieurs faits intéressants et éducationnels à propos des politiques canadiennes et je suis devenue une citoyenne plus engagée.

Pendant la semaine au Forum pour jeunes canadiens, j’ai créé des amitiés avec des individus venant de toutes les régions du Canada. Maintenant, je suis amie avec d’autres jeunes engagés à travers le Canada, d’un océan à l’autre. Pour moi, les liens que j’ai créés avec mon groupe au Forum auraient été assez pour faire le voyage. Les individus que j’ai rencontrés au Forum n’étaient pas seulement les gens incroyables, avec lesquels je vais rester amie longtemps, mais aussi des jeunes canadiens ambitieux qui m’ont fait me rendre compte que notre génération a le pouvoir de faire du changement pour le meilleur. Ces nouvelles amitiés m’ont aidé à en apprendre plus à propos de chaque partie du Canada et la façon dont les décisions prises par notre gouvernement nous affectent.

amy mpdinnerforum

Amy avec son groupe pendant le souper des députés

Pendant ma semaine à Ottawa, au Forum pour jeunes canadiens j’ai tellement appris à propos du système politique canadien. J’étais capable de voir de mes yeux comment le gouvernement fonctionne grâce aux conversations avec des députés, des sénateurs et d’autres individus impliqué politiquement, en écoutant les Présidents de la Chambre des Communes et du Sénat; en m’assoyant et marchant dans la Chambre des Communes et au Sénat; en participant à des simulations impliquant des élections, l’immigration, les réfugiés et la négociation entre les provinces. Tout cela m’a permis d’avoir une plus grande compréhension du gouvernement canadien. L’horaire de la semaine à Ottawa était rempli d’évènements; et chaque activité m’a aidé à apprendre et comprendre le gouvernement ainsi que de faire des connexions avec d’autres individus. Après avoir participé à Forum je crois que je suis une citoyenne plus engagée.

Après avoir parlé avec divers individus, j’ai accumulé une meilleure compréhension du Canada, politiquement, mais aussi de sa diversité. Je suis maintenant prête et j’ai le désir de participer et de devenir plus impliqué dans les activités dans ma communauté, au niveau provincial et à l’échelle nationale.

Une des activités qui était particulièrement spéciale pour moi était la Réception des députés où j’ai parlé avec plusieurs députés et anciens de Forum qui sont maintenant impliqués politiquement. À cette Réception, le Très Honorable Justin Trudeau est venu et nous a parlé, j’étais assez chanceuse d’avoir une photo avec lui! Une des autres activités étaient le Déjeuner des Sénateurs où j’ai rencontré le Huissier du bâton noir et parlé de sa position et son travail au Parlement.

De plus, ce voyage m’a aidé avec mon français. Je devais donner des discours en français, communiquer avec des francophones et écouter des discours en français. Je crois que mes habilités à parler, écouter et communiquer dans la langue française se sont améliorés pendant le Forum.

Amy W. – Alberta

Investir dans l'avenir du Canada

Suivez-nous